post error: Costs have not been calculated

<<

emma li

Posts: 18

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:31 am

Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:48 am

post error: Costs have not been calculated

Hi

I am working on OB MP13.

These are the steps I made:
1) set up products
1) made an initial physical stock.
2) make a shipment out for one product type
3) raise a sales invoice

At this point, I notice that the accounting for receivables had been posted. but the cost of goods were not posted because cost have not been calculated.

I then believe this is due to :
I have a)not input the cost in the costing tab. and b)not yet validate the costing rule as average , and c)schedule the background costing process. So I went on to do so.

After validate and schedule costing process and input cost.... the costs are still not calculated.

I have also tried to make a purchase and hence a ''receipt document'' arise. the error still exist.

Can somebody point out where have gone wrong?
Thanks
<<

Patricia San Juan del Amo

Posts: 65

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:06 pm

Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 7:48 am

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

Hi Emily,
I'd reccomend you to take a look to the OB 3 User Guide, in particular the two articles listed below:
http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Product#Costing

Hope it helps, otherwise please let me know.
Thanks,
Patricia.
<<

emma li

Posts: 18

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:31 am

Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:08 am

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

Hi,
Thanks, I have follow the quick guide and this product article .... and landed me where I'm now... :roll: I check the shipment document and there is a post error:costs have not been calculated.

Presently, I can generate the stock report with quantity.. ,
but for the valued stock report...., I get a error msg reads:
Error: Error
java.lang.NullPointerException
<<

Patricia San Juan del Amo

Posts: 65

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:06 pm

Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:35 am

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

Sorry I'm lost now.

Can you please let us know the exact steps you have followed to get that error?.

Thanks,
Patricia.
<<

emma li

Posts: 18

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:31 am

Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:43 am

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

Hi
Thanks for your attention, I try to detail the steps...

I am working on OB MP13. At the beginning, i follow the quick guide http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Quick_Guide

In relation to the area of products, these are the steps I made:
1) set up product category and input a sample of 10 different type of items...all flag as stocked, sale and purchase. and product type- item

2) Here, I did not validate the costing rule and background costing yet

3) I go to warehouse to initiate a physical inventory stock count.... then i manually input some physical quantities for the above 10 type of items. The error is : post:cost not calculated. The stock report reflect the quantity i entered.

4) I sold 50 product X, so I raise a ''Good shipment'' out for this delivery.
At the good shipment, the error is post error, and i click on the button post... the error msg is... ''the cost of the product x has not been calculated''
Therefore, I see the accounting entries for cost of goods are not posted (as confirmed in the analysis for finance Not posted transaction report...

However, the stock report reflect less 50 quantity for this sale.

5) After delivery, I raise a sales invoice The accounting post is correct here. I see the posting done for receivables and product sales

6) I click on warehouse for valued stock report and there is nothing but a error message:

Error: Error
java.lang.NullPointerException

7) Here, I refer to the product url http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Product and again for http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Quick_Guide, I realise I forgot to validate the costing rule, schedule background costing process and input the cost into the product costing tab. I done these at this step.

8)Then I bought some product X, and raise a ''Goods receipts'' for receiving the items. Here, the cost has not calculated error still exist. and the above 3) 4) & 6)

By the way, I have also create a price list for this vendor, and create a purchase invoice. The accounting posting is done for payables and purchases
<<

Patricia San Juan del Amo

Posts: 65

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:06 pm

Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:08 pm

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

Hi Emily,
let's go step by step.

In step 3) it seems you get a posting error. I need to be sure you did configure Openbravo properly.
Please take a look here:
http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Physical_Inventory#Accounting
Above article describe how to properly post a physical inventory count.

Please review it and let me know if that helps.
Thanks,
Patricia.
<<

emma li

Posts: 18

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:31 am

Post Tue Aug 14, 2012 5:49 pm

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

hi
according to the article physical inventory, it mention

Fields to note:

Quantity Count: the actual, physically counted, product amount in the Storage Bin of the warehouse.
Book Quantity: product amount in the Storage Bin according to the application.
Cost: Unitary cost of the product, used to valuate the transaction cost when the stock is increased.


but when i create the count list for initial stock at step 3, i did not input the cost into the physical inventory count list.... I input the cost in step 7) into the product costing tab (as suggested by the product article http://wiki.openbravo.com wiki/Product#Costing). At step 3), I only input the initial stock quantity and click process the inventory.(as suggested in the quick guide http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Quick_Guide) Is this the cause of the post error for cost not calculated?

The Not posted transaction shows this :
Physical inventory
Date Document no. Description Amount
3/8/12 10000 initial Product x 0
<<

emma li

Posts: 18

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:31 am

Post Wed Aug 15, 2012 8:42 am

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

according to this article http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Projects ... ionalSpecs

it says:
''The validation process does several checks:

For products with a previous rule all their transactions need to be calculated.
For products without a previous rule (nor using old engine) all their transactions need to be NOT calculated. ''
<<

emma li

Posts: 18

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 4:31 am

Post Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:19 am

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

Hi
After reading through http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Costing_Rules , and http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Product#Costing , I realise that I have only validated the average costing rule last week, but not for the standard costing rule( but http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Costing_Rules says ''All rules need to be validated in order to start using them''
In the costing tab, I have to input the cost type as Standard (as suggested by http://wiki.openbravo.com/wiki/Product#Costing) .

Therefore, I'm not sure validating the standard costing rule is the next right move? my costing rule is average. but validating standard now, will this replace the average costing validated last week?

or if i input the costing type in costing tab for the default cost as average, is this proper? will this conflict some other area of the erp system?

Anybody able to share their thoughts would be greatly appreciated.... thanks
<<

Patricia San Juan del Amo

Posts: 65

Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:06 pm

Post Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:03 am

Re: post error: Costs have not been calculated

Hi,

The new costing enging is currently being documented.
I'll review your last notes and let you know begining next week.

Sorry for the delay,
thanks,
Patricia.
Next

Return to Functionality

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
Website Terms


Designed by ST Software for PTF.